History and Scope

The international conference New Models and Hydrocodes for Shock Wave Physics (NMH) was started in 1995 under the direction of Dr. Vladimir Klimenko (now Chairman Emeritus). Also instrumental in the planning and organization of the first few conferences in the series was Dr. Steve Coffey. The first NMH conference was held in Saint Petersburg, Russia in 1995.

A full list of past NMH venues follows:

  Date Venue
1 1995 Saint Petersburg, Russia
2 1997 Oxford, UK
3 1999 Washington DC, USA
4 May 19-24, 2002  Edinburgh, UK
5 May 16-24, 2004 College Park MD, USA
6 April 9-14, 2006 Dijon, France
7 May 18-23, 2008 Lisbon, Portugal
8 May 23-28, 2010 Paris, France
9 April 23-27, 2012 London, UK
10 July 27 - August 1, 2014 Pardubice, Czech R.
11 May 29 - June 3, 2016 St. Malo, France

Throughout its history the NMH conference has been devoted to the evaluation and dissemination of leading research in the field of shock physics. The subject matter has been rather wide in scope, including works that are: experimental, theoretical, numerical, or some combination of experimental/theoretical/numerical. The broadness of scope is illustrated by a listing of the main themes of the 12th NMH conference:

  • Experimental methods and results
  • Constitutive behavior and models (including EOS, deviator, phase transition, etc.)
  • Damage mechanics (including spall, ejecta, etc.)
  • Explosives (including both unreacted and reacted characteristics, detonation, reaction zone, etc.)
  • Models of material behavior (atomistic, MD, continuum, and multi-scale linkages in time and space)
  • Numerical methods (Eulerian, Lagrangian, ALE, etc.)
  • High velocity impact

For the first time in history, the 11th NMH conference was held as part of the PETER (Pressure, Energy, Temperature and Extreme Rates) conference series under the auspices of the Institute of Physics (IOP). The 12th NMH conference will likewise be held as part of the PETER conference series with overall organization provided by the IOP. Assisting the IOP in the organization of the 12th conference (PETER 2021 NMH) are: the Shock Waves and Extreme Conditions (SWEC) group of the Institute of Physics, the Commissariat a L’Energie Atomique (CEA), Joint Institute for High Temperatures – Russian Academy of Science (JIHT), and Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL).
Finally, it is perhaps worth mentioning that the full name of NMH has varied somewhat over the years. It has been, for example, at times, known as New Models and Hydrocodes for Shock Wave Processes in Condensed Matter.

Key dates

Registration deadline:

24 May 2021

Paper submission deadline:

27 June 2021